Skip navigation

Picasso had, if you didn’t know, 5 main styles that he focused on (at different times) throughout his art career. They are:

Blue Period (1901-1904): During which Picasso would paint works of blue and blue-green shades to give off a sad feeling. Beggars and prostitutes were the usual focal point of these works. Picasso was inspired to do this by a trip he made through Spain and by the suicide of his friend Carlos Casagemas.

Rose Period (1904-1906): consists of more cheery works of art (makes a change from prostitutes) with brighter colors. I presume he ran out of blue and green and had to use something else. These bright pieces featured many circus people.

African-Influenced Period (1907-1909): Mostly inspired by African Artifacts, hence the name African-Influenced Period.

Cubism (1909-1912): style in which artists would take objects and break down their complexity into simpler, less detailed objects.

Classicism and Surrealism (1912-1930’s): This period began just after the upheaval of World War I. Picasso used ideas by Raffaello Sanzio da Urbino and Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: