Skip navigation

This has to be my dad. My dad was the first person who introduced me to the crazy world of computers and their capabilities. He was the first one to sit me down at a computer, turn it on for me, and show me how amazing they are. I was so flabbergasted at what they did, such as the short fizz of the CRT monitor turning on (even though I’m only 16, CRT monitors were still the only available screen when I first saw a computer), and the gray Windows bar skipping across the bottom of the screen (I grew up with Windows, so take that Apple!) . My dad would usually load-up an educational game for me to play while he did whatever  on the one next to me. Sometimes I would be able to play Frogger (Awesome!).

Every time I sat at the computer, I would learn something completely new. Of course, it all started when I saw my dad turn on the computer (I thought to myself, “so that’s how it works”), followed by using the Drives such as the CD and Floppy Drives. As I got older and more experienced at using the computer, I started going more in-depth into computers and learned the hardware, software, and programming of the computer.

It didn’t take long at all to find what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. When I saw that computer screen fire-up and the aerodynamic keyboard keys, I wanted to use computers for ever. This wonder and curiosity to excel in the field of computers science (computer science is what I’m going to major in when I enter college in 2013) is all thanks to my dad, and I cannot thank him enough for that.

Currently I am building programs in Java in my spare time when I am not on the tennis court or on the golf course; I am also a wizard at repairing computers. Thanks again Dad.

4 Comments

  1. Wow, I know exactly how you feel. The first computer I laid my hands on was a acorn electronic. From that moment….

    • Thanks for checking out my post…this is probably the only non-spam or serious reply I’ve had since I made this blog. Thanks a lot. Without my dad, I don’t know how smart I’d be with computers right now (He still show’s me stuff all the time). I know that I’m pretty tech-savvy, but I’ve never heard of an acorn electronic computer…how old are they?

        • nofosu
        • Posted May 15, 2012 at 2:56 pm
        • Permalink

        hahaha acorn electronics are reall old, at least 30 years. Your post definitely brought me back some fond memories.

      • thank you. oldest technology that I know of is the computers from way back when, where you would have to use the 5 inch floppy disks to boot software into the computer. Then when you where done with that software, you eject it and boot something else up. Pretty funny.


Leave a Reply

